Better stay awake.

2 May

It’s true; Hollywood has (basically) run out of (fresh) ideas.  We’re bombarded by comic books made film, novels made film, and (my favourite) old favourites given a new coat of paint.  Case in point:

A Nightmare on Elm Street.

More specifically: Freddy Krueger.

Masterpiece.  I have been a fan of the ANoES franchise for a very long time and Fred is my boy.  I would bat for him long before Jason, Michael, Pinhead or even Jigsaw.  I was torn when it came to my attention that they, in their infinite wisdom, were rehashing A Nightmare on Elm Street.  It could go either way.  Remember Rob Zombie‘s re-imagining of Halloween?  We could have had the brilliance of the first one, or the inanity of the second.  Russian roulette.

So.  How was it?

I loved it.  Yes.  Loved.  I had as much fun watching it as I had hoped I would.  I’m pretty sure there aren’t words available to me to describe how psyched I was for this event, and I was not left disappointed.  There was blood, there were epic finger lickin’ good knives, there were great deaths for silly teenagers and there were original scenes remastered.  I have to admit, I was concerned about the lack of Robert Englund in this one, but Jackie Earle Haley did not disappoint.  He was suitably creepy and he handled the wisecracks expertly.

Favourite scene: (spoiler alert?)  The throwback to ANoES4 (a personal favourite) in quote, I admit, made me lawl.  You know the scene.  Nancy’s struggling to get through a hallway that’s just turned into gooey blood-like liquid and Freddy throws out a trademarked one-liner?  Yah, that scene.  Truly, truly outrageous.

I am easy to please, but this film did not slaughter the legacy whence it came.

The only thing that made me facepalm was the audience members who sat directly behind me.  Judging (you’d think I’d learn) from the voices I heard through their constant nattering, they were in their mid teenage years and have not borne witness to the original ANoES series.  It’s iconic, isn’t it?  It should be required viewing to pass life.  Too bad.

In short: see it.

Eurythmics – Sweet Dreams

UNT.

2 Responses to “Better stay awake.”

  1. MJ May 6, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    This is going to lessen your opinion of me, but, I haven’t seen any of the originals either. I think I may have seen the last one…Freddy vs Jason? Maybe? Man I wish my brother was alive so I could ask him which one we watched. I saw one of them, and it was the latest one of the time but I didn’t watch ALL of it, so I can’t remember much about it, therefore it really doesn’t count. lol

    In my defense though, I really don’t like horror movies. I went through a phase where Hellraiser was a great set of movies, mainly cause I got dragged to Hellraiser 3 as a third wheel on a date a friend didn’t want to go to alone. Then I had to see where it all started. The first one was stupid, but that’s just me. 😉 I love the Scream movies, but as much for the cheese as anything else. And the suspense. I adore scaring the hell out of my best friend. 😀 She scares so well!!!

    Anyway, I’m so glad you watched it, and above all ENJOYED IT. I was concerned when I saw you were going, cause remakes oh so often S-U-C-K. Love it!! *snuggles and flees*

    • vyxen May 6, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

      Nope. It is absolutely 100% okay not to have seen the originals if you are not a fan of the genre. I think that you should do your homework if you ARE a fan and you think you should see ANoES in 2010, though. Because really? You HAVE to see it with Robert Englund. He is the master.

      (I don’t love Hellraiser.)

      Remakes do suck. Sometimes you just have to put the past behind you and enjoy what is and not what was (although sometimes that’s impossible, too).

Leave a Reply

