Judge this.

26 Apr

Do not judge a book by its cover.

I have made that mistake twice now, with surprising results.  The first time I erred was in relation to a book sporting one of the most stunning covers I’ve seen (I’ll leave it unnamed because I really need to re-read it.  Everyone seems to adore this one, it makes me think I didn’t give it enough of a chance.  I’ll let you know how that goes when I get to it).  The story, on the other hand, was not so wonderful.  My second sin (fooled twice.  gg) was much more recent.

I decided that it would be in my best interested to read one of Patricia Briggs‘s books.  My friends are big fans, but I can’t get over the covers.  (They’re terrible.  Over sexualized and remind me way too much, now, of Rachel Vincent’s Shifters series.)  I thought that it might be best, if I was going to continue to mock the books (in particular the Mercy Thompson series), that I read one of them.  So, I did.

I have to tell you, I didn’t want to be impressed.  I tried really hard not to be impressed.  I was waiting for another Faythe; a loud-mouthed gal who gets herself into a world of trouble and relies on her (always male) throng to get her back out.  Mercy’s not like Faythe.  Well.  She is in that she gets into a lot of trouble – she’s coyote, c’mon now – but she also gets herself back out of it (maybe, sometimes, with a bit of help from her friends).  Other than that?  She’s a pretty swell character.  I would recommend Cimorene and Morwen to any girl first, but Mercy has my kick-ass stamp of approval and stands up well as a great female protagonist.

Moral of the story: learn from my mistake(s) and don’t judge a book by its cover.

Ben Folds – Bitches Ain’t Shit

UNT.

One Response to “Judge this.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More than a king. « Prolifically Barren - November 3, 2010

    […] I caught my first glimpse of Becca Fitzpatrick’s debut book, Hush, Hush, I admit that I judged a book by its cover.  I can’t be blamed, it’s a stunning cover.  One need only glance at this book to […]

Leave a Reply

