Sky high apple pie.

1 Jan

A time to give thanks.

A time to spread cheer.

And a time to hope.

Welcome to 2010, folks.  I hope that you have all arrived here safely and almost entirely unscathed.

I seems to me that 2009 was a year of discovery and evolution.  It’s not just me.  I’ve been reading blogs, posts and notes written by friends who have found happiness and self-worth last year, friends who have been busily surrounding themselves by the warmth and love of a tightly knit family, friends who have risen above personal conflicts to become more whole and understand the world just a little bit better.  I started 2009 with hope.  That hope was crushed like a bug against a joy riding coupe.  It was a particular hope and a particular crushing.  When I was able to move beyond it, to understand and use it, a hope of a different kind sprang forth.  I began last year thinking it was going to go one way, but it surprised me and strayed from its planned route.  This was good.  I learned from this.  What?  Well:

1) Money is not that important.

2) Follow your heart.

3) Always always always make time for the little things.

This above all: to thine own self be true.

I was sure to say more than once that ’09 was not my favourite year.  Turns out?  Actually, it was.

I have high hopes, and a great feeling, for 2010!  (Especially if I can avoid the kerfuffle that will become Vancouver.)

I don’t want to make resolutions, because I feel that if I term anything a “resolution” I will promptly ignore it on principle.  There are, however, things that I would like to do this year.  Biggest on my list is, of course, to write more.  I am joining two writing groups very soon, I want to actually contribute to Cutbanks this year, I’d like to write many more reviews for the store, and I want to develop and idea for something more substantial than a two page narrative (namely a novel idea, because I would really love to write a novel – even if I’m the only person to ever read it, which I suspect will be the case).  I want to get married.  I want to buy a house (which is 100% in the works and kids you should see the room I get for an office.  It is perfect!).  I want to have a dog or two.  And I want to meet new people and continue to bask in the richness of my personal life.

So.  Here’s to 2010.  She’s going to be a great one!

Flyleaf – Fully Alive

UNT.

4 Responses to “Sky high apple pie.”

  1. MJ January 2, 2010 at 1:28 am #

    *loves*

    I adore you. You keep me real. You keep me honest. And you keep me reaching for the sky both intellectually, emotionally, and physically. I am so PSYCHED about you guys buying the house!! Seriously as excited as I was when we bought our new house!! I simply can’t wait to see what you do with it. How you make it your own, and to see how you grow in the coming year(s). Can’t wait to see what you do with your life in general. You learned a lot this year, about yourself, the world around you and what you want from it, and about strength. And about what happiness really is. I am so proud of you. And so proud to be your friend. 🙂 ❤

  2. raekin January 2, 2010 at 5:26 am #

    I’m so psyched about the house! And I would totally love to read your novel when it’s done, if I’m allowed to!

    You have been such an inspiration to me, you’ve helped me stay strong and you’ve helped me to realise so much about myself that I didn’t really know along with helping me accept certain elements of myself that I’d not been able to. The fact you’ve been there through my personal journey means the world, and having you in my life is truly wonderful!

    You deserve the best in 2010, and I hope it’s a better year for your writing, I do love your words! ❤

  3. vyxen January 3, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    Thank you, so much, ladies. For your kind words and for allowing me to be a part of your lives.

    I am also psyched about the house. mephy, too, I think (he’s more quiet in his pyschedness than I can be).

    I feel smooshy, right now. I’m so digging it. Thanks, again, both of you. 🙂 *Wubz.*

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bring it. « Prolifically Barren - December 31, 2010

    […] said last year that I will ignore resolutions based solely on their title.  Fuck that.  That’s fear of […]

Leave a Reply

