A room of my own?

16 Dec

I keep thinking about it.  (Which is funny because Woolf is not my favourite and that text makes my eyes bleed.)

Natalie Goldberg (of Writing Down the Bones) does not agree.  She has written that “if you want to write, you have to cut through and write.  There is no perfect atmosphere, notebook, pen, or desk, so train yourself to be flexible.”

I’m not so sure.  There’s something about this apartment that doesn’t inspire me.  Although, now that I think about it, that could be because I’m so stoked on the idea of buying a house and moving onto another aspect of my life.  I feel negatively about this apartment, and that does not bode well for creativity.

I think that’s why coffee shops work for me, right now.  It’s a change of pace (that offers great scones and awesome London Fogs), a much more cheerful (and sunny) atmosphere, and the opportunity to watch the world go by all around me.

I have a dream about an office.  Just a small room with a window or two to let sunlight stream in.  A place for some important books and a small stereo system.  No other media but the computer and the music.  A place with good qi.  Simple by nature, but it’s becoming increasingly more difficult to find.

So, friends, do you have a place you like to write/create?  You can write anywhere (we all can), but is there somewhere that just works better for you?  A place you prefer above all others?

Korn – Shoots and Ladders

UNT.

7 Responses to “A room of my own?”

  1. C December 16, 2009 at 11:51 am #

    Way to plug!

  2. vyxen December 16, 2009 at 8:49 pm #

    /Innocent.

    No idea what you’re talking about. None. At all.

  3. vyxen December 16, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

    PS. Way to not answer my question. Thanks for that. No. Rly. 😀

  4. MJ December 19, 2009 at 7:23 pm #

    Oh man, I know where you’re coming from about not being inspired. My old house, I hated, yet was alternately proud, because at 24, I was a homeowner, free and clear. And I’d done it all by myself. Yet as the years dragged on, and the house got smaller, and the kids got bigger, and the neighborhood went to crap…I started hating it. Even the little things we’d done to make it our own. It got to the point where it was hard to even CLEAN because I didn’t see the point. It was a crap house in a crap neighborhood and it was NEVER going to get any better. If we worked our asses off it might stay the same. And then we saw this house. In February. And I jokingly called my dad and told him the house across the street from his was for sale. The signs had gone into the yard the DAY BEFORE. He said “call and find out how much they want for it”. He’s said this before, so we did, but didn’t think anything would EVER come of it. But the seed had been plated. I began being almost violently resentful of the house we lived in. I hated being there. I hated leaving and coming home. I hated even knowing where I was. Then we put a bid in on this house, and we went back and forth with the sellers and another couple, looked at the house several times…yet it was STILL nearly 6 months till we actually signed the papers and got the keys and MOVED. And in that time, I nearly lost my mind because I hated hated HATED that old house. And since we started moving, I’ve been back all of 3 times. My best friend doesn’t understand why I don’t go by all the time and see what my ex-husband has done with the place (we sold it to him when we bought this place-he’s fixing it up to rent out). I’m not interested. I have absolutely zero desire to go back there. I don’t even want to remember the place, except that I had 15 1/2 years of memories in that house. 12 as an adult..the rest of them with my brother who is no longer with us. If not for that, I’m sure my brain would block out the place entirely. 😉

    So yeah, I understand the lack of inspiration at your apartment. It’s even more hard when you KNOW you’re buying something else, but either haven’t found it yet or it hasn’t really made any progress on finalizing yet. It’s slow and inhumane torture. However, you’ll get there, and these days of agony will only be a memory…and a faded one at that. 😉 *loves you*

    Oh, and as for your question, I write in my bed. Generally best when everybody’s asleep…cause the TV’s not on, the kids aren’t running in and out and pouncing me randomly and distracting me. Though my living room works sometimes too. lol

  5. vyxen January 1, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

    I’m glad I’m not the only one, MJ. I feel silly saying that I can’t write because I dislike my apartment. I suppose it’s only half true anyway, I mostly procrastinate and find a lot of distractions as well as feeling negatively about my apartment.

    However! This point is moot. We’ll have to experiment and see what it’s going to be like for me when mephy and I pick up that house. I plan to construct an office that is lacking in a lot of distractions.

    You do have a busy household, that is true. I am glad you make the time to write, though. I think I’d be lost if you didn’t. 🙂

  6. MJ January 2, 2010 at 1:40 am #

    I simply can’t wait to see what you do with your new house. I have to live vicariously since we have no money or time to do anything much with OUR house. lol Though I plan to paint my kitchen sometime in the next month. Which is saying something since I LOATHE painting. 😉 So be prepared Lady, you are required to take TONS of pictures!!

    As for me writing, I really wish I had more time to. I feel like a lot of my pent up energy and emotion would really be released if I did. Even though I spend quite a bit of time online being bored when I think of blogging or writing anything else I just have no drive. I really don’t know why. Because I am always thinking of things I need to blog about, cute things the kids did or something funny Dad and I talked about, or something I want to do or Dan and I talked about or something. Motivation is something I really need to figure out!!

  7. vyxen January 2, 2010 at 11:39 pm #

    Do we need to have a blogging schedule? Like a writing club with blogs.

    I lack motivation, too. It makes me sad.

    I’m buying a house! I have NO money to do anything with the damned thing! But! Pictures there shall be. Oh yes. Just for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

