Sante Fe.

1 Dec

Those of you who know me know that I am an absolute whore for surveys.  I stumbled across this meme-survey-thing on this wonderful blog (I adore Twitter, it’s introducing me to so much talent!).  Couldn’t resist!

1. What’s the last thing you wrote? What’s the first thing you wrote that you still have?
The last thing I wrote was a reply for a RPG on The Northlands.  I’m not sure if that counts, though, so I’ll add that I recently completed a (very very very late) birthday present for the Sethster (he just turned one, he will forgive me!).

The first thing I wrote that I still have?  Wow.  I still have many, many old journals from when I was in the primary grades of elementary school.  As far as stories are concerned, the oldest piece I still have was about a sea monster.  I remember, several years ago, being struck by how not-terrible I thought it was (and I’m hard on my writing “skill”).

2. Write poetry?
Not even to save my life.

3. Angsty poetry?
No.  Because I don’t write poetry.  If I did, I would, for sure, make it angsty, though.

4. Favorite genre of writing?
Urban fantasy.

5. Most annoying character you’ve ever created?
The lovely Ms. Arkyn.  I love her so dearly, she’s my absolute favourite, but man, oh man, is she impossible to write!

6. Best plot you’ve ever created?
The, still unwritten (on paper, anyway), Cell Phone Story.

7. Coolest plot twist you’ve ever created?
Oh oh oh!  Nope.  When it’s done, I’ll let you know!

8. How often do you get writer’s block?
Well, I think that my affinity for procrastination hinders my writing ability and is almost 99% attributable to my lack of productivity.  But.  I do suffer writer’s block.  K‘s prompts are good for getting out of slumps, though!

9. Write fan fiction?
Only once.  If you can believe it, I can’t even remember the name of the book I wrote for.  (Of course I can’t find the book through a Google search and I can’t find the piece I wrote.  I think that means it doesn’t exist and I am going crazy.  Yes.  Going.)

10. Do you type or write by hand?
I type.  I do have an addiction to notebooks and tend to jot notes down in them, but when I’m serious about getting something written, it’s typed.

11. Do you save everything you write?
Yes.  Speaking of, I really need to throw some new things on the ol’ save-my-life-stick.

12. Do you ever go back to an idea after you’ve abandoned it?
Oh yes.  I have many pages of notebooks devoted to bits and pieces of ideas.  They often evolve and rarely are finished the way they were conceived.

13. What’s your favorite thing you’ve written?
Ever?  I’m a big fan of the niblet of a back story I started for a character from a RPG I am (heavily) involved in.  It’s not actually finished, but I love the character and I love the way the story was beginning to sound.  It’s something I really need to sit down and complete.

14. What’s everyone else’s favourite story that you’ve written?
Always.

15. Ever written romance or angsty teen drama?
Yes!

16. What’s your favourite setting for your characters?
This world, with a twist.  A re-imagined here and now.  With mountains and snow.  (Which is actually here and now.)

17. How many writing projects are you working on right now?
Not as many as I should be.  I have a book review forming, a piece about the happiest place on Earth, and a few short stories I’d like to actually get written.  Oh!  There’s also an assignment for a writing group I’m (re) joining!  Okay, so I have more writing projects than I’d thought.  I just need to beat that nasty procrastination beast.

18. Have you ever won an award for your writing?
Hah.  No.

19. What are your five favourite words?
Fox, plethora, cunt (I’m sorry, but it’s true), grim, and . . . I have no idea!  I don’t have a list of favourite words.  I’ll scribble something down when I think of it.  Scribble, though.  That’s  a great word.

20. What character have you created that is most like yourself?
Aislin.  She’s shy and has limited self-confidence.  I miss writing her.

21. Where do you get ideas for your characters?
I just . . . get them.  They appear.

22. Do you ever write based on your dreams?
Never once.  This is funny considering the one dream I’ve had that always stands out was about vampires (I was in high school – I watched a lot of Buffy), and that’s how Stephenie Meyer conceived of the Twilight Saga.  I should’ve written vampire books!  Damnit.

23. Do you favour happy endings, sad endings or cliff-hangers?
I like sad endings, actually.  They make me think a great deal more than happy endings do.  (Don’t get me wrong, I dig a good happy ending, too!  A place for everything, and everything in it’s place.)  I don’t like cliff-hangers, though.  They make me frustrated.

24. Are you concerned with spelling and grammar as you write?
Very.

25. Does music help you write?
Oh for sure!  Most of what I write is composed to Apolcalyptica!

26. Quote something you’ve written. Whatever pops into your head.
A pause.  Thoughtful.  “You got the scythe?”  One last bit of urban myth to catch up on.  I didn’t have much time left, I figured, and this was one of those need-to-know kinds of deals.

Another smile, “it’s in the trunk of the car.  October seems to be the only acceptable time for that sort of thing anymore,” accompanied by a shrug.

The cool cats from Grease 2 – Who’s That Guy?

UNT.

Leave a Reply

