Eat them up, yum!

17 Aug

Kendra blogged yesterday.  This should come as no surprise as Kendra blogs (quite brilliantly) on a very regular basis.  Her blog, yesterday, however inspired me (which, now that I think about it, is also not a surprise.  Kendra is my inspiration.  This inspiration was different from past inspiration.  This inspiration was productive!).  She was kind enough to quote from a book that I keep meaning to crack open and read (then study), Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life by Anne Lamott.  Read on (Ima just re-hash the bit she bolded in her blog, because that’s what inspired me – if you would like to read Kendra’s blog (which you should.  By now you should have it fed through teh RSS and visit her writing like the Oracle at Delphi.  I do): click it.  Click it gud.)!

It reminds me that all I have to do is to write down as much as I can see through a one-inch picture frame. This is all I have to bite off for the time being. All I am going to do right now, for example, is write that one paragraph that sets the story in my hometown, in the late fifties, when the trains were still running. I am going to paint a picture of it, in words, on my word processor. Or all I am going to do is to describe the main character the very first time we meet her, when she first walks out the front door and onto the porch. I am not even going to describe the expression on her face when she first notices the blind dog sitting behind the wheel of her car–just what I can see through the one-inch picture frame, just one paragraph describing this woman, in the town where I grew up, the first time we encounter her.

As much as I can see through a one-inch picture frame.

That’s not a lot.  That’s just a bit.  A nibble.

So.  Because today was a Monday and Mondays are generally pretty not busy at work, I wrote.  Not a lot, it was busy enough to keep me from pounding out a novel, but I wrote enough to make me grin like a Cheshire cat.  Bare bones?  I am beginning to introduce a character.  In this introduction, I am sketching someone new.  I am meeting someone new.

To make the deal better: mephy read it and liked it!  He even read some crazy deep meaning into it that I had not intended, so that’s a bonus.  I r smrt.

(I wrote about a dead fish.  Rly.)

Ludacris (feat. T-Pain) – One More Drink

UNT.

One Response to “Eat them up, yum!”

  1. kendrajk August 20, 2009 at 8:17 pm #

    yay for writing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

