Don’t mind me, it’s “one of those days.”

16 Aug

It is so frustrating to have ideas, but no way to sketch them.  To flesh them out.  I can see stories, sometimes in eerily vivid detail, but I can’t do anything beyond that.

I pick up a pen and all of a sudden language evades me.  I put my fingers to the keyboard and Spike TV becomes entirely more important.

You have to write in order to be a writer.  I get that.  I appreciate that.  I believe it with my whole black little heart.  HOWEVER.  It’s incredibly difficult to put that into practice, sometimes.

I feel as though I am standing in the middle of an impressive hill, hands white knuckled around bicycle handlebars.  I can see the end, it’s tangible, but man, oh man, it’s difficult to mount that bike and start the climb in the middle of a steep hill.  It’s not quite like that, but it’s what it feels like, right now.

Extreme – More Than Words

UNT.

7 Responses to “Don’t mind me, it’s “one of those days.””

  1. kendrajk August 16, 2009 at 9:01 pm #

    Did you ever read Bird by Bird? If you did, remember the Short Assignments? or If you didn’t, go read the chapter titled Short Assignments.

    And just for you I have posted the excerpt from her book as well as the frame that I made on my Dreams of Change blog.

    • vyxen August 16, 2009 at 9:11 pm #

      I haven’t. It’s on the top of the pile. I will try to read that asap.

      (I originally made this post private. I decided to un private it because, damnit, I need to be emo sometimes and not censor it! If I can get over this hill, this post will be inspiring.)

      Thank you for your post, K. 🙂 I like it. A lot. I do listen to you, honest! (I just listen to myself too much, sometimes. I’m not always very encouraging of myself.)

      • kendrajk August 16, 2009 at 9:20 pm #

        yes, it is a very good read 😛

        (these are the kind of posts that shouldn’t be private, they should be shared so writers just like you who are struggling can know they are not alone, or those who are not struggling can help you out )

        ^_^ I understand, I honestly haven’t written in a while either and should, but it is hard sometimes. Hopefully we both pull out of it soon 🙂

  2. hirondelle August 16, 2009 at 10:58 pm #

    *hugs tight* I know how it feels, for me I just piss to much time away on the northlands or FB. I need to get my shit together. 😦

    • vyxen August 17, 2009 at 2:12 pm #

      I was thinking about that last night, actually. I need to start to limit my waste of time. I need to start reading before bed, again. I need to devote time to doing things that are worth doing (read: not pressing “refresh” on FB or NL for hours when there is nothing being said/posted). I need to make an effort. Things won’t happen. It’s like positive thinking, you have to *do* it, otherwise? Good luck seeing results.

      imo.

      • kendrajk August 17, 2009 at 3:56 pm #

        that’s a very good point Kim, I wholeheartedly agree! I spend far too much time sitting on FB hoping someone will comment on my status or that someone will say something exciting or…anything! Last few days I’ve tried to make it more of a point to do some productive things with my ‘net time 🙂

  3. missyjo August 17, 2009 at 9:47 pm #

    Heh, I can relate. To having something so important to say, sit down to say it, and have the thought fly away like a hummingbird. Argh!!! And I used to spend so much time on FB, and NL, and Home, and Myspace….I never got anything done. So, my online time is my reward at the end of the day. That’s why I’m never online till the middle of the night. LOL I give myself to my kids and my family and my responsibilities all day, and at night, my time is MINE. And I fritter it away as I please. 😉 I really should blog more often though. I envy you ladies who have deep points, and come up with such thought provoking things to say. I fill up my blog with the daily junk that’s going on around here, and make it look like more by tossing in the pictures I’m incessantly taking. LOL I cheat, what can I say? 😛

Leave a Reply

