To dream, or not to dream?

11 Aug

So.  My friend and colleague, Kendra, has graced WordPress with two entries worth of writing prompt lists (one and two).  Since I cannot come up with anything on my own, right now, I am challenging myself to write down the line of these prompts.  Now, I have already written to the subject of dreams, so let’s start with nightmares!

Dictionary.com defines a nightmare as a noun.  This is a start.  D.com goes on to say that it is 1. a terrifying dream in which the dreamer experiences feelings of helplessness, extreme anxiety, sorrow, etc.  2. a condition, thought, or experience suggestive of a nightmare  3. (formerly) a monster or evil spirit believed to oppress persons during sleep.  Number three is my favourite.

I think we’ve all experienced that terrible dream: being chased by the Boogeyman, the sneer of an evil razor-blade toothed circus monster, or having a ginormous bear (which was actually more akin to a bugbear than an actually bear, in hindsight.  Big scary critter) stand in your backyard tearing into your pet dog (I was a strange child.  I have evolved, as you might have guessed, into an even stranger adult).  I am almost 100% certain that we all have an understanding of what a nightmare is and how it effects our lives, in the most base of definitions.

On the topic of dreams (as K and I have outlined in our lives), however, I have to wonder: can you have nightmares for your life as you can have dreams for it?  My dreams are simple and they make me smile.  But I have things that I do not want to see in my life at any moment, can these be considered nightmares?  I think so.

I nightmare (it is not quite as effective a verb as “dream” can be) that my life will be made up of complacency.  I fear that I will be content for the rest of my life.  My biggest nightmare is that I will continue to plod along this safe country road path of life and not be struck to turn, on a whim, onto that path less often travelled.  There are, certainly, perils on that path, but the pay out, I wager, is greater.  More effort equates a more pleasing gain.  Surely I will not be terribly disappointed with life if I am comfortable and content, but will I have actually lived?  I don’t think so.  There’s a pretty big world out there, and I think that I should experience it.

Change gears.

Before I sign off, I’d like to address number three.

a monster or evil spirit believed to oppress persons during sleep

Really?  Why is this a former use of the term?  Can we not believe that while we dream darkly that we are oppressed by devils?  I quite approve of that.  It makes a great deal of sense to me.  On the other hand, when I was driving home from work yesterday, I said I hearty hello to the serpentine head of a dragon in the clouds.  Is it that much of a surprise that I would be sweet on the idea that, while nightmaring, I am oppressed  by devilish minions?  Probably not.

Queen – Death On Two Legs

UNT.

4 Responses to “To dream, or not to dream?”

  1. kendrajk August 11, 2009 at 3:28 pm #

    Kim, I absolutely love your ideas about nightmares in real life. I might have to borrow that and write my own post about it 😛

    I also love what you nightmare of (that’s so funny sounding, but awesome). I think a lot of people would be afraid to take the less traveled paths, to face those obstacles and live life to the fullest. I think it’s so great that you’re afraid of that NOT happening. And I don’t think you have any fear of it really, the more you want something, the more you go after it and make it happen.

    🙂

  2. hirondelle August 12, 2009 at 5:26 am #

    “I fear that I will be content for the rest of my life. ”

    I have no idea why you fear this… you haven’t shown any signs of settling into the slough of contentment so far. Or do you ever fear that you will be discontent for the rest of your life, and never do anything about it? In my experience if you refuse to make life happen, as long as you yearn for it – life with force itself on you. The yearning is important. Linking to the convo Kendra & I had about the importance of dreams.

    http://kendrajkphotography.wordpress.com/2009/08/08/digital-portrait/

    Keep the faith Kim. I think we will do fine, all three of us. 😉

    • vyxen August 14, 2009 at 8:47 am #

      I think that I feel as though I am settling into complacency, sometimes. When I was told that I was normal, just like everyone else, it struck me that I didn’t want to be. I have delusions of grandeur, sometimes. Which, I admit, are dangerous. What can I say, my hero is Gaiman and he’s a rockstar! 🙂

      Thank you for the link, that was a pleasure to read. 🙂

      I think we’ll be all right, too. We’d better be. We’re far too awesome not to be.

  3. hirondelle August 14, 2009 at 9:12 am #

    lol, well I don’t think there is any danger of you being complacent – you just ain’t that kinda gal. 😉

Leave a Reply

