Excuses, excuses.

7 Jul

Oh look, another nifty fad that I had to join!

K is correct, I think, in that this is a lovely way to promote blogging and to keep people writing consistently.  Or, at least, it is a good way to plant an idea into the mind of a blogger.

It has been discussed that lifestreaming is overtaking blogging.  I am not fond of this theory, though I believe it.  I, myself, am a slave to Facebook and am becoming quite enamoured of Twitter, so I do completely understand.  I am not, however, interested in giving up my blog.  (Which is pretty difficult to believe given how little I’ve posted here, recently.  I would like to blame stress, and the fact that it is summer and life always gets a bit more busy in the summer.  I like excuses.)  Which is where the concept of this NaBloPoMo thingamawhatsit is attractive.  I will not post daily, I know this about myself.  I will strive to, and I may every once in a while, but I am not a daily writer, let alone blogger.  But.  It seems a decent enough prod for inspiration to pick up the pen, so to speak, so we’ll give ‘er a go.

Speaking of writing.  In the chapter “The Goody Two-Shoes Nature” of the book Writing Down the Bones Natalie Goldberg mentions something interesting:

Some people hear the rule “Write every day” and do it and don’t improve.  They are just being dutiful.  That is the way of the Goody Two-shoes.  It is a waste of energy because it takes tremendous effort to just follow the rules if your heart isn’t into it.  If you find that this is your basic attitude, then stop writing.  Stay away from it for a week or a year.  Wait until you are hungry to say something, until there is an aching in you to speak.  Then come back.

This is how I had been doing my “daily writing.”  I would love to be inspired to write with flare, but I was not.  I wrote, but it was out of duty, not passion.  So.  I stopped.  I have not started again (creatively), yet.  I will, but I need to give it some more time.  This is why I will not push myself to blog daily, but hope that I can at the same time.  I do not want to fall into the trap of writing for the sake of writing, again.  I feel that just knowing that I was doing that is half the battle, and now I am armed with weapons to combat that problem!

Happy NaBloPoMo, bloggers.  Try it out!  Oh.  And if you do, add me to your friends list so I can keep up!

The Airborne Toxic Event – Happiness is Overrated

UNT.

3 Responses to “Excuses, excuses.”

  1. Manca July 8, 2009 at 3:24 pm #

    Oooh, me me! I will totally try to do this in August. I should have loads of material in August xD

  2. vyxen July 8, 2009 at 6:59 pm #

    Loads of material, but really Manca? When are you going to find the time to be on the intrawebz?! 😉

    • Manca July 9, 2009 at 12:12 am #

      Well… Mat will only have time off the first week I’m there. I’ll have the first 3 weeks off when arriving there. So, for the first 2 weeks of August, I’ll be spending my days waiting for Mat to come home. lol. And then after that, I’ll be working from home. I think I’ll find the time. Unfortunatelly.
      I think I can do it!

Leave a Reply

