Emotion.

3 Jun

Artists, as a stereotype, create their most amazing, and influencial, pieces while in the lowest part of depression (also while heavily involved in laudanum consumption).  Happiness, I have observed, is also characteristic in producing something breathtaking.

What about anger?

I am a touch upset, now, because the anger I was going to speak of, that inspired this thought, has almost completely dissipated.  What is remaining is mere frustration and a musing sense of “whiskey tango foxtrot.”

I digress.

What about anger?  I have a temper (I inherited it from my Dad – he has very impressive anger), when it’s good it’s bad and when it’s bad it’s frightening (I have been told).  I sport auburn locks, that’s pseudo-redhead and a very good excuse to have the temper I mentioned.  There is no other feeling, for me, that pumps my adrenaline quite in the same manner as anger.  (Fear comes close, but spiders are hardly blog material.)

The feeling, itself, is no more inspirational than delight or despair.  It all comes back to perspective (no one can arrogantly advertise my blog the way I can!).  How you see the world.  I am prone to reading horror novels, watching drama and thriller themed movies and television; I tend to appreciate the villain more than the hero.  Anger affects me.  When my blood is boiling, my imagination is rolling.  I admit, sometimes writing what, exactly, is rolling along in that imagination would result in my institutionalization.  Of course, I also have to admit that, most of the time, I should not be allowed to write when I am angry (unless I am observing my reaction to that anger).  When I do I am either very uncomplimentary, or very basic and without any finesse.  (It’s a damn shame.)

It’s like those visceral reactions I spoke about earlier.  Reading, or viewing, something that leaves you feeling the way you felt when you approached it makes it unimpressive.  Reading, or viewing, something that leaves you charged with some manner of emotion (pick a range, any range) makes it a bit more impressive.  I should think that when creating something that leaves an observer writhing in whatever emotional state they choose an artist was also feeling something.  I suspect that “blah” inspires “blah.”

Let’s end with a question.  When you find yourself most inspired, are you feeling something strongly?  An emotional response to some stimulus in your life?

David Cook – Life On The Moon

UNT.

9 Responses to “Emotion.”

  1. raekin June 3, 2009 at 10:59 am #

    Oooh, you and your great posts! They may be few and far between, but by god they make for good reading 🙂

    My inspiration levels differ depending on my feelings…

    If I’m writing poetry, I am immensely depressed. I can’t write it at any other time, not good stuff anyway.

    But with most inspiration things I’m either very happy or pretty damn pissed off. The rest of the time I’m blah, and I’ve never found that to work well with inspiration.

    • vyxen June 3, 2009 at 11:15 am #

      They’re not THAT few or far between! /Shame. I’m much better than I used to be for keeping up with teh bloggity. Thank you for the compliment, Rae. 🙂 Muchly appreciated. I am glad you read and thrilled that you enjoy what you read. 🙂

      That’s fair. I think most people are like that, actually. I can’t write when I’m really sad. Well. No. I can, but it’s a messy – brain lubricant and tears everywhere, terribly unattractive. I like pissy/happy writing. Well. Pissy writing when it’s not petty and terrible, as I mentioned it can be. 😉

      • raekin June 3, 2009 at 11:17 am #

        I love your angry pissy writing! I adore it! I almost live for it!

        (P.S. I am currently grinning like a goon! Anger leads to fun things!)

  2. lahirondelle June 4, 2009 at 7:54 am #

    Very interesting post. Oddly enough I find serenity to be the best mode for me creatively. I do write (blog) through all emotions, but for anything that requires effort and concentration (I’m think painting but this is also true of poetry) I need mental stillness and calm. Even if the stronger emotion inspires the art in the first place, it is calmness that helps me materialise it. I think this is cos painting is almost a meditative state for me, and meditation and tranquility are one.

    • vyxen June 4, 2009 at 8:03 am #

      Natalie Goldberg, of Writing Down the Bones, relates writing to her practise of zen. I understand. When I write, and not type, I feel more close to that. When I type, which is often, I feel a touch more disconnected from what I am saying. Not completely, but there is something special about putting a (fantastically perfect) pen to a (stunning and amazing) notebook and being completely connected to your world.

      I hear you, Tracy. I don’t meditate (I should learn how to), and I don’t paint (I really need to cultivate a hobby like that, or knitting), but I do understand creation through tranquillity. You’re right, too, there is nothing (at all) like it.

      I just like to be pissy. 😉

  3. Manca June 10, 2009 at 1:33 am #

    I don’t get inspired 😦 Not artistically anyway. But more often than not, my blog posts come after something’s upset me. It’s where I vent. That’s why I call it a journal rather than a blog.

  4. Brandy July 6, 2009 at 8:25 pm #

    When I am feeling most inspired I am usually avoiding some strong emotion. I am drowning out my other self and letting my creative self flow freely. It is how I gain perspective on a situation, let the pieces sort themselves out and settle into the proper pattern so I can effectively deal…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Emotions and Inspiration « through my eyes - June 3, 2009

    […] emotions, expression, inspiration, photography, poetry, thought — kendrajk @ 1:02 pm The Vyxen has given me a reason to blog today. Let’s end with a question. When you find yourself most […]

  2. Emotions and Inspiration | like a bird... - December 6, 2010

    […] Vyxen has given me a reason to blog today. Let’s end with a question. When you find yourself most […]

Leave a Reply

