A salute to the men of Carhartt.

28 May

I have said it before: give me a man in Carhartt over a man in Gucci any day of the week.

The working man.  Blue collar.  A man’s man.

Hot.  Damn.

I went for a walk this afternoon and I have to admit, I was chuckling as I experienced an epiphany: mephy has destroyed me.  I find myself almost completely unable to gawk at a man driving a car.  If it ain’t a truck?  No dice.  It’s true, this lil’ lady from Dawson Creek was absolutely snow white in the neck until she met her fellah (not an easy task – remaining lily white, that is – as anyone who is from, or has visited, Dodge can attest).  Now?  He’s got to drive a truck (and none of this nancy-boy Ford Ranger/Dodge Dakota shit – let’s be safe, here, and go with Chev/GMC and make it at least a three-quarter tonne.  And hey, while we’re at it?  Diesel) and he’s going to have to be wearing dirty Carhartt’s, a sun bleached t-shirt, steel-toed boots and sportin’ a farmer’s tan.  I just can’t take a gander at Calvin Klein without rolling my eyes just a little.

Absolutely nothing made this epiphany more clear than when mephy himself came home after a long day at work.  Dusty Carhartt pants, dirty steel toed boots, faded t-shirt, a great start to a fabulous farmer’s tan, and scruffy as hell (did I mention that I swoon for fellahs with facial hair?  It’s a fun vice to have).  I tell you, that boy is fine.

To the men of Carhartt: I raise my stein.  Carry on, fellahs.

(It’s akin to that whole cowboy thing.  I could never quite understand the draw to Wranglers, but I completely appreciate the attraction to the hard working man with the blue collar job.)

Nickelback – Burn It To The Ground

UNT.

8 Responses to “A salute to the men of Carhartt.”

  1. raekin May 28, 2009 at 11:05 am #

    I wholeheartedly concur!!

    Save me one for when I finally manage to escape to the haven of Canada 😀

  2. Jordan May 28, 2009 at 12:49 pm #

    Carhartt being the most chosen brands from workers, it’s not wonder that you’re attracted to them. Everyone wears it. Atleast around here. Women too.

    Good post.

  3. vyxen May 28, 2009 at 1:11 pm #

    Women here, too. I am in the market for some of my own. It’ll make the trips to visit the in-laws easier – we always seem to be put to work! 🙂

    Thanks, so much, for stopping by! 🙂

  4. Manca May 29, 2009 at 3:25 am #

    Hmmm. Minus the truck and the facial hair and… ummm, everything but the Gucci part, our taste in men is practically identical! xD

  5. tinyelk May 29, 2009 at 7:01 am #

    Mmmm…. an ode to the joys of rugged men…this is what I like to read! Happily, my husband has facial hair that seems to be on steroids, he can remain clean-shaven for…oh, 6 hours at a time? Now that’s a special kind of commitment to rugged hair growth!

    I buy my son lumberjack shirts in the hope he’ll grow up extra manly, so you’ll be glad to know the urging of a new rugged generation is underway.

    (I lurked my way over to your blog via Raekin’s and thought I’d step out of the shadows of lurkdom today!

  6. lahirondelle May 29, 2009 at 8:03 am #

    Yes yes yes! I love guys who look (and indeed smell) like they have done a hard day’s work. I need to work on my truck fetish though before I am anywhere close to your league, I thought a truck was a truck – or at least a pick-up 😉

  7. vyxen May 29, 2009 at 8:15 pm #

    Good taste, Manca. Good taste. 😉 😀

    Welcome, tinyelk! I’m glad you came out of the shadows. I’ve been reading your blog, too, but haven’t had the time I want to get into the thick of it, yet. (I am pleased to see that you share my love of Spike, though.) Also. My mephy is like that with his nephew; he’s all about buying the little guy mini-Carhartt things. It’s pretty cute. We’ll be doing that for my nephew, too. (So they’re both our nephews, but one is the offspring of his sister and one is the spawn of mine 😀 ) It’s going to be awesome.

    Hiro. All that I know about trucks, and it is not a lot, I have learned in the passed two-ish years. 🙂 mephy does a lot of research and loves to share tidbits of information with me. And I, by living-in-sin rights, co-own a Chev (reg cab long box) diesel. Driving is fun! 😉

  8. raekin May 30, 2009 at 1:29 am #

    Spike is the best!! Though I do have a soft spot for Xander too….and Willow…and Dru…. Oh dear :/

    Awh two of my bestests lurking each other ^_^ Good times 😀

Leave a Reply

