So true.

10 May

Pull up a seat.  Get comfy.  Relax.  (Don’t do it.)  Read.

“We should not be taught to wait for inspiration.” While thinking of a way to start off my new blog, I came across this quote from Frank Tibolt (writer). And I must say, I concur wholeheartedly. My newest epiphany with life is that we cannot sit around and wait for our dreams to come to us. Sure, life would be swell if that was the case. I could be as lazy as I’ve truly always dreamed of being(who hasn’t really?)…but that’s not how it works. Even if our lives are “predestined” in some way, even if things really are mapped out in advance, those maps are of course, subject to change.

Maybe someday you’ll wake up and think… “I don’t feel like being proactive and productive today. I think I’ll watch television instead.” With that action, that thought, that laziness… maybe you just missed your chance to become everything you wanted to be, if only you hadn’t called off that meeting you thought was nothing big, or maybe if you had gotten up and gone to that store, you would have met someone who could change your life. But instead….the modern world and the media draws us in and holds us in its grasp.

Such truth.  As always, K is an inspiration.  To call her a muse of mine is to call a sunset red, there’s just so much more to it.  I can’t describe it, so I won’t try.

I find myself amazed, and (I won’t lie) amused, at the number of people crawling out of the woodwork to write.  It is as though a big ol’ halogen was turned on in a really dark room.  Wake up call?  Life’s too long to be miserable, but way too short to procrastinate.  Believe me. I know.  I am the person who will clean her entire apartment (what I wouldn’t give for a lawn to mow, or a garden to weed), bake cookies and go for a long walk before sitting down to write.  I love to write, but I avoid it like the plague.  Couldn’t begin to tell you why, but that’s why I’ve jumped on that “write every day” bandwagon.  Ten minutes is no time at all.  God willing, I will continue until I can comfortably sit down and write for an hour every day.  Flawlessly.  Fruitfully.  So far it’s been great.  I’ve had a pretty badass (imo) idea for a piece of fiction.  The rest of what I’ve been writing is complete shit, but hey it’s something.  That’s the important part.

Apocalyptica – Cohkka

UNT.

2 Responses to “So true.”

  1. kendrajk May 10, 2009 at 6:32 pm #

    aw thanks kim ^_^ you’re such an inspiration to me too, i love your writing and your voice it’s great 🙂

    And I have to tell you, it gets soo much easier. If I was to honestly tell myself “okay I’ll write ten mintues a day”, it wouldn’t happen, I start writing and suddenly it’s two hours later. That’s why I absolutely loved having independent studies for writing at school, a full hour and a half free all to myself to write and write and write. It’s great 🙂
    If you stick to it…in a few weeks the ten mintues will fly by so fast and you won’t be able to stop at the ten minute mark, trust me 😛

  2. vyxen May 10, 2009 at 7:19 pm #

    Thanks K. 🙂

    I’m looking forward to the day when the ten minutes produces something a bit more creative than angsty rantings and fragmented fiction ideas.

    I think I should look into taking a Creative Writing course. I have much to learn, it might be fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

