Gaiman strikes again!

23 Dec

Taken from the bottom of Monday, December 22, 2008.  It struck a chord.

Hi, I was sort of wondering about your thoughts of ‘literary fiction’ and ‘genre fiction’ and the mixes of both. I would classify your work as something of a mix, leaning towards the literary side.

This has actually been something of concern to me. I’m writing stories and I’m working on a novel (that hopefully I’ll complete) and I’ve sort of been thinking about that a lot lately, about how such a work as mine would be received and looked at critically and all those sorts of things.

Thanks.

I don’t worry about it. I don’t think about it. It’s not something I feel I need to bother with. People put the books where they want to put them, but the books don’t change. As long as I have covers that make the books like they might be pleasant reading experiences, as long as people mostly find out about them from other people who liked them rather than being told they needed to read them as a chore, I’m happy. (I’m easily satisfied.)

From where I stand, worrying about how something you are writing is going to be received critically while you’re writing it is a whole lot of wasted worrying: there’s nothing you can do about it anyway. Why not worry about making what you’re writing the best thing that it can be, which is something you can do something about?

Listening to the buzz of Mephy’s computer, which was supposed to have been properly shut down last night.  Stubborn piece of technology.  It knows it’s about to be replaced, you see.  Wily critter.

UNT.

Leave a Reply

