And now for something completely different!

9 Oct

I was foolish last night, and asked Mephy what my next challenge was.  He hummed and hawed for a minute or so before, and I’m sure he was smiling impishly (I wasn’t facing him at the time), he requested two small pieces.  I signed my death warrant in asking him to provide me with stepping stones to the path that will, hopefully, lead to my discovery of inspirado. . . .

A sonnet.

And a haiku.

In other words?  Poetry.  He has challenged me to write poetry.  It is a very large challenge . . . I don’t write poetry.  I am a prose fiend.  That is all.  Mephy knows that, this is why he has challenged me thusly.  Vexatious bastard.

So.  A sonnet, and a haiku.  This will be a wild ride.  But you know?  I’m actually pretty excited about it.  I will not produce something worth reading, but I will produce something.  Something completely out of my comfort zone.  I find this titillating.

Criminal Minds S3.

UNT.

2 Responses to “And now for something completely different!”

  1. kendrajk October 10, 2008 at 8:13 am #

    i’ve been meaning to try a sonnet myself. lol. but i’m not so good at structured poetry.

  2. vyxen October 11, 2008 at 7:55 am #

    At least you’re good at poetry, K. This is The Undiscovered Country, for me. Heh.

    You should write a sonnet. And I will write a sonnet. We will write sonnets. 🙂

Leave a Reply

