In order to write, one must write.

7 Jun

Silly.

Kendra‘s correct, of course. In order to have the motivation to write, I must continually write. Every day. The same-ish time every day would probably work wonders. I love a routine. If I make something a routine, it will get done. If it does not, it begins to annoy me until it does get done. Thank you for your sage advise, Kendra.

I was digging today and found this. Good advice. Much the same as Kendra’s, actually.

Okay. Time to work, then. Good timing, too. At our most recent staff meeting the boss handed out a “Do you believe this store is important to [this town]? If so, why?” piece of paper. It made me interested. He wants a line, or two. I’m giving him an essay. Just to stretch my wings, so to speak.

Also? I’m delving into more young adult novels. I have to. I’d like to read some “classic” pieces and make myself a little bit more sophisticated, but who am I kidding? I’m from Northern British Columbia. That spells redneck, right there. Boo. Yah. Anyway. Young adult series. It’s research and I’m actually pretty excited about it. I even plan to take notes, this time. Things I like. Things I don’t like. We’ll see how it goes.

(I’m not listening to anything, save for the incessant whir of Miss Scarlett’s fan. mephy’s still sleeping, and I’d prefer not to wake him.)

UNT.

2 Responses to “In order to write, one must write.”

  1. kendrajk June 10, 2008 at 12:55 pm #

    good luck writing regularly, it’s easy once you get the hang of it πŸ™‚

    in terms of young adult novels i have some suggestions

    Tithe: a Modern Faerie Tale by Holly Black
    very good book about some fairies. i think its now part of a series but i ahven’t read the others.

    anything by Charles de Lint, as far as i know he only has 1 young adult novel but all the others are very good too (all in fantasy/sci fi section) and depending on the type of book you want to write could be some good research. i would suggest “widdershins” and “the wildwood” both in the fantasy/sci fi section

    The Fingerprints series are some of my favorite young adult books. by melinda metz

    faerie wars by Herbie Brennan and it’s sequal the purple emperor are both very good

    and the Sweep series by Cate Tiernan are the books i read that got me hooked on reading. its about a teenage girl who discovers wicca, its about 10 books long or so but its very good.

    oh and i read a series called Fearless by Francine Pascal which was also very good but it’s like a 30 book series lol. and i haven’t seen it at barnes and noble for a while so if you wanted it you might have to order it or something.

    if i could remember the several hundred or so books i read in 7th grade alone i could offer more suggestions lol, if i think of more i’ll let you know.

  2. vyxen June 11, 2008 at 6:22 am #

    Kendra! Wow! πŸ˜€ Thank you for this! πŸ™‚

    (I love de Lint! I will be starting my collection of de Lint, soon . . . I hope – I spend entirely too much money on books.)

    Wow. πŸ™‚ I look forward to finding these books. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

