The powers of the bathroom.

1 Feb

“(I’ll try to take a long break between updates, now, so you can read something of substance next time, kay?)”

About that? I lied. I’m a woman, it’s my prerogative (it’s funny. I don’t hate myself nearly as much as I should for having just done that). And? Before I get into the amazingness of the bathroom – ’cause I know you’re curious now – I feel it necessary to mention that my putzing about with iTunes was one of the most boss things I could have done recently. I’ve been listening to it on random and man, oh man, is it playing some totally random shit. Case in point? I just finished rocking out to MJ’s You Rock My World (it should be said that I was dancing about, and giggling, while making toast and a smoothie. My morning routine is dah bomb, y0. And hoooooly. This video is epic.). WMP never gave me bizarreness like that despite the fact that I’ve had this song loaded since I visited the bar scene on a semi-regular basis.

Right. So. The bathroom and it’s magical prowess, eh?

Well! You see, I was in the shower (on that note: why is it that we – as a general, stereotypical, rule – do our best thinking in the bathroom? It’s just weird.) and I was being nostalgic. I was thinking about writing and it brought me to some earlier stories (that aforementioned 50 pager from high school, actually). It got me to thinking about the way I felt about writing back in the day. The conclusion of that thought, as I was conditioning, made me smile a bit more than I usually do as I make pretty the locks. See, I was always a good student. Always hit honour roll and all that (even with my math and chem. struggles!). But the grades that always made me the happiest? The ones I received on things I wrote. Stories, I mean. Not essays as much, but things I was given creative license on. I always felt so warm and fuzzy after I glanced at that higher than average (I’m proud to say) letter on a composition.

Did I always want to be a writer? Not technically. I think that I was more interested in being a veterinarian when I was a girl because I didn’t know you could be a writer. I’ve always been a reader, but stories had always been more real to me than authors, when I was young. I hadn’t ever taken time to consider that people actually came up with these ideas, struggled over the proper wording, and then bit their nails to the quick as they waited on words from publishing companies and agents. Now? Now I want to be a writer. I’ve loved stories since I was knee-high to a grasshopper and I’ve come to a deep love of language more recently. Tools, eh? And you just can’t go wrong with a good bought of Michael Jackson when you’ve got your pen in hand.

George Michael – Hard Day

UNT.

2 Responses to “The powers of the bathroom.”

  1. kendrajk February 1, 2008 at 1:57 pm #

    you rock kim.
    i want to write like you someday

    *hugs* ^_^

  2. vyxen February 3, 2008 at 8:18 am #

    Awh. Well thank you, hon.

Leave a Reply

