Perspective.

13 Jan

To see a world in a grain of sand,
And a heaven in a wild flower. . . .

Auguries of Innocence, William Blake.

My question is one of perspective.

How do you see the world?

My mother, the Queen Mother as she has, so affectionately, been named, sees the world as a series of equations.  Music, for example, is a phenomenally large part of her life (she’s a cellist, you see).  When she listens to a lovely new ditty, or looks toward a new littering of sheet music, she sees math.  She hears the patterns, the timing . . . you get the idea.  A good friend of mine sees the world in much the same way.  I distinctly recall an occasion whereupon he regaled to me a mathematical theory for tree branches that explained that each branching from a main bough could be measured at exactly the same angle.  Each time.  (It’s true.  Go eyeball a tree.)  In nature he sees math and physics.

Me?  Well it’s funny, actually.  I see poetry in the world.  Lines that have, already, been written and dreams yet unseen.  I say it’s funny, more in a peculiar way, because I am not a poet . . . by any stretch of the imagination.  I respect poets for being able to dabble in a world I find exotic and completely foreign, and I respect the fruits of their labour.  Back to the point.  While I, also, respect the equations in life, I cannot see math in a tree (I recognize that it’s there, but I don’t see it upon first glance).  I see a dance.  I hear a song in the wind.  I feel the kiss of the sun’s ray.

Perspective.  A fork in the road of my line of thought begs a consideration of how one views the day.  By now we’ve all heard about The Law of Attraction, popularized by The Secret, even if we have no idea what those kooks are talking about.  Truly, though, doesn’t that take partnership with the way you see the world?  Positivity attracts positivity.  Negativity attracts negativity.  There’s a gentleman who wanders the maze of shelves within the bookstore I get paid to hang out at who is a huge fan of the concept that you choose the outcome of your day early on.  If you wake up and think, in a fowl mood, that your day is going to be, excuse me for a moment, complete shit, well . . . it probably will be.  Why?  Well.  I figure it’s something of a self-fulfilling prophecy.  Chances are, if you see your day going badly the whole way through, you won’t let it go well.  You’ll stop seeing anything but the drab grey of the sky and feeling a damp chill.  You’ll see frowns before you’ll see smiles.  You’ll be predisposed to the bad things (and we’ll call you mopey.  Or emo.).  On the flip side, if you decide that you’re going to have a great day, chances are that you will.  There will always be exceptions to this rule.  Life’s  a roller coaster and sometimes turns when you expect a dip, or dips when you expect a turn.  Can’t predict that.  For the most part, though, I firmly believe (in agreement with that pesky book buyer) that you choose your path.  Consciously, or not.

Ya figure?  /Shrug.

As far as my personal goals are concerned, I read, recently, that size does matter.  That is. . . .  The size of your dream.  In that snazzy publication (The Writer) that I read monthly, Lee Tobin McClain wrote (as number five in an article geared toward building the chances of success for any new writer) that apart from writing, one must “visualize a compelling future.”  Think big.  Dream big.  Don’t think that your manuscript will collect dust under your bed, or serve as an impressive makeshift table leg, close your eyes and see your book.  See it on a shelf next to the next big Grisham novel.  Or beside Hesse’s Siddhartha.  See it where you need to see it.  Don’t think that you, maybesomeday, have a chance.  Know that you do.  Know that you’ll do whatever it takes to get yourself out there.  See for me that meant taking things one step farther.  I’ve seen my novel beside Coraline already.  Now?  Now I see myself shaking the hand of my biggest, contemporary, literary hero.

It’s all a matter of perspective.

Tegan & Sara – Where Does the Good Go?

UNT.

3 Responses to “Perspective.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Let’s just throw open that closet door, shall we? « Prolifically Barren - January 5, 2009

    […] and feel (perhaps foolishly) that great things will come with it.  It’s all a matter of perspective.  Well.  Perspective and work.  A great deal of work.  But, I want it to be a great year, so I […]

  2. Emotion. « Prolifically Barren - June 3, 2009

    […] feeling, itself, is no more inspirational than delight or despair.  It all comes back to perspective (no one can arrogantly advertise my blog the way I can!).  How you see the world.  I am prone to […]

  3. Attempt « Prolifically Barren - July 31, 2009

    […] The voice of Nature, or another element of science?  It’s all a matter of perspective. […]

Leave a Reply

